Connecting people affected by disorders of the corpus callosum is at the heart of what we do at the NODCC. We are excited to increase and improve our community sessions this year and offer presentations and discussions with experts.

The virtual call schedule for February and March is now available. Stay tuned as we confirm additional session dates in March and the coming months. Full session descriptions and registration links for each call are included below.

Upcoming Community Calls:

February 20: Parents of Newborns

February 24: Music Therapy and Disorders of the Corpus Callosum: Using music to engage the whole brain

February 27: Siblings (10-15): Living with a brother/sister with DCC

February 27: Dealing with loss: infant and newborn age

March 13: Occupational Therapy

March TBD: Parents of Preschoolers

March TBD: Adults with DCC

If you would like to suggest a topic for a virtual session, please contact our Community Committee at community@nodcc.org.

 

Parent of Newborns

Saturday, February 20

5:30 pm PST / 6:30 pm MST / 7:30 pm CST / 8:30 pm EST

This is a meet and greet session for parents of newborns through age one. Parents will be able to ask questions, discuss therapies, challenges, and resources.

Registration link: https://us02web.zoom.us/meeting/register/tZYsfu-trDkuEtT0PrjFfOZf8PE_GvBSQbEZ

 

Music Therapy and Disorders of the Corpus Callosum: Using music to engage the whole brain

Presented by Laura A. Fonseca, BT-BC

Wednesday, Feb 24

5:00 pm PST / 6:00 pm MST / 7:00 pm CST / 8:00 pm EST

Music Therapy is the evidence-based use of music and it’s therapeutic applications by a credentialed professional to achieve individualized non-music goals in the areas of cognition, social skills, speech and language acquisition, motor skills and leisure. Music Therapy provides positive outcomes because music is a non-invasive, fun, and motivating multi-modal experience. Even just passively listening to music activates both hemispheres of the brain, making music an exciting mode of therapy for individuals with disorders of the corpus callosum! Come learn how music activates the brain, what that could mean for DCC and how to incorporate simple music-based strategies for functional outcomes- even if you aren’t a musician!

Laura A. Fonseca, MT-BC is a Board-Certified Music Therapist and Neurologic Music Therapist. She received her B.A. in Music Therapy from Berklee College of Music in Boston, MA with a minor in psychology. She is currently working to obtain her M.M. in Music Therapy from Colorado State University. Laura is primarily a percussionist, vocalist, and guitar player. She completed her clinical internship at NeuroRhythm Music Therapy Services in Colorado Springs, CO. Laura primarily works with children and adults with neurologic impairment and neurodevelopment disabilities in a variety of settings including education, acute rehab, in-home, assisted living, and private practice. As a research-minded clinician, Laura uses current music therapy research to inform her practice. She views music not only as a force that unites, but also as a catalyst for change. Laura focuses on using music as a holistic element to enable and support her clients as they discover their potential.

Registration link: https://us02web.zoom.us/meeting/register/tZMvcO-grzwsHt2R2EqsCd-PZPv1cqzgAfii

 

Siblings Connection: Living with a brother/sister with DCC

Saturday, February 27

11:00 am PST / 12:00 pm MST / 1:00 pm CST / 2:00 pm EST

This virtual session is for siblings ages 10-15 who have a brother or sister with a disorder of the corpus callosum to connect with other siblings.

Emma Charles, a young adult who grew up with a younger sibling with a DCC, will facilitate this session. Emma has attended numerous NODCC conferences with her family and has managed the sibling programming for the last several conferences.

Registration link: https://us02web.zoom.us/meeting/register/tZwuceygqTktEtCBhzgFq-oW2CXERwGl5_2m

 

Dealing with loss: infant and newborn age

Saturday, February 27

5:00 pm PST / 6:00 pm MST / 7:00 pm CST / 8:00 pm EST

Recently some members of our community have reported experiencing the loss of infants/newborns and are not prepared to know how to grieve and cope with this pain. Dr. Ashley Vaillancourt will be offering an educational and support virtual session for those dealing with or anticipating this type of loss in their life. The session will provide education on grieving, coping, and adjusting to the loss of an infant/newborn. Dr. Vaillancourt will provide grief support resources and you will have an opportunity to connect with others in your community experiencing a similar loss.

Dr. Ashley Vaillancourt has a Ph.D. in clinical psychology and is currently completing her residency specializing in Neurorehabilitation. She has been involved with the NODCC since 2013 and was elected as a board member in 2020. She is passionate about working with persons with disabilities and chronic medical conditions.

Registration link: https://us02web.zoom.us/meeting/register/tZArfu-vqDouHNCI5UnyP4rkOf2Vtr4dVNHv

 

Occupational Therapy

Presented by Corrie Lukkes, OTD, OTR/L, CEIM/CIMI

Saturday, March 13

5:30 pm PST / 6:30 pm MST / 7:30 pm CST / 8:30 pm EST

Corrie Lukkes will discuss what Occupational Therapy (OT) is and how it can help your child with a disorder of the corpus callosum. will give some examples of what you can do with your child at home and there will be time for questions.

Corrie graduated from Creighton University in Omaha, Nebraska in 2011 with a Doctorate in Occupational Therapy and a Bachelor of Science in Health Sciences. Corrie has several years of experience working with a pediatric population with children ranging from birth to 12 years of age, specializing in birth-3 years old in the Illinois Early Intervention program. She is a certified instructor of Infant Massage, as well as experienced with Therapeutic Listening programing and Handwriting Without Tears. She also has experience using the SOS Approach to Feeding. Corrie is passionate about the care she provides and enjoys being able to assist families as they journey through care with their child.

Registration link: https://us02web.zoom.us/meeting/register/tZIpf–trT4rHNYRErpkSlntuQ4pytu7F53S